Remembering Those We’ve Lost

Guild Wars 2 Heart of Thorns airships under attack, an allegory to friends we've lost

Hey there! Long time no see! What has it been? A few years? Yeah, boy what a crazy few years it’s been, huh? Despite all the Stuffβ„’ I hope you’re doing well. I truly do. We could all use a smile and a break from the world for a few minutes. Hey, if I’m able to give you even a bit of that respite, well, why not give it a try? So, first, thank you for taking the time to stop by and read.

Really, though, my main reason for spinning up the blog again came in the form of a sign. Although I’m mostly oblivious, the sign was so direct that it couldn’t be ignored. You see, I had just seen Belghast’s twitter post about Blaugust and it was on my mind while playing Guild Wars 2 when I spotted a lost rat.

Lost Rat in Lion's Arch
Hey, little buddy. Let’s go find Ravious.

For those who don’t remember, there was a blogger by the name of Ravious, and their blog Kill Ten Rats was a common site in the gaming blog-o-sphere. So much so that when Ravious passed away in 2017 he was honored with his own hidden achievement in the game to find 10 lost rats hidden around Lion’s Arch, a very touching memorial.

Seeing the rat and remembering Ravious flooded me with memories of all the community members we’ve lost from all the games played over the years. Ravious. TenTentacles. MadLyric. Psychochild. Hollopoint.

All larger than life and all sorely missed. I know that I’ll never live up to their legends but if I can even make a fraction of the difference they all were able to make then, well, I have to try. Try again, anyway.

Just took seeing a lost rat in Lion’s Arch to remind me.

// Ocho

9 thoughts on “Remembering Those We’ve Lost

  1. Hey, we just completed that achievement a week or two ago. Same thing happened, saw the rat, saw the achievement. “Hey, Ravious sounds familiar.” Looked it up, got a little sad and nostalgic. Thanks to Ravious and all the others who have contributed to our enjoyment of the genre.

    And nice to see you here again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, man. Yeah, streaming on Twitch just hasn’t been in the cards for me of late and I’ve been craving a bit of nostalgia. Blogging isn’t anywhere near where it was when I started this site years ago, but who knows. It may see a resurgence yet.

      Like

      • I get that, totally. If all I’m doing is watching it feels weird, so I always watch while I’m playing something else. Just throw up a stream on a second monitor. I’m not the most active chatter because of it and will end up lurking more than not, but that’s the way I’ve found to enjoy it. Makes up for the fact I’m so antisocial in the games I’m playing. πŸ˜…

        Like

  2. Pingback: Blaugust 2022 Day 5 - Beyond Tannhauser Gate

Leave a comment