Daggerfall: Werewolves and Scorpions   5 comments

Daggerfall

I’ve finally built a character I think I’ll like. Like my original plan, my character is focusing on Blunt Weapons, Restoration Magic, and Dodge, and lesser skills Medical, Illusion Magic, and Critical Strike. On top of that, I gave my Argonian a boost of magic points, rapid healing, and a bonus to hit humanoids and then to balance out the good stuff, forbade the use of plate armor, long blades, and axes. This seems good, and I get out of the tutorial dungeon relatively easy.

Daggerfall

Bears. Sure. Easy.

After making my way out, the tutorial post congratulated me, and then said it would contact me in 7 days and suggested I start making my way toward the town of Daggerfall. Sounds reasonable. However, opening the travel map, it says Daggerfall is *8* days out. Well, I don’t want to miss what’s going to happen, so I instead opt to travel to the closest town, Gathway Gardens, which appears to be only one pixel on the map away. Sweet. I turn south and start running.

Daggerfall

In a straight line, too.

TEN MINUTES LATER I finally arrive at the town. Ten minutes? Seriously?! I’m going to need to get around faster than this. Since my bags are brimming with loot, I find a general store and sell off a few things, and go broke buying a horse. Well, at least the horse will improve travel times significantly.

With that I auto-travel the rest of the way to Daggerfall quickly enough, and since I’m broke, start asking around for work. NPCs are really here in the game as fodder. They point you from one location to the next, dispense information, and that’s it. Ask them more than one question, and they also start giving a bit of attitude.

In the meantime, I pick up a quick delivery job. Doesn’t pay significantly, and is a simple delivery quest, but whatever. A job is a job. I’m to deliver a strapless wedding gown to this General Store’s customer in town. … it ends up being this guy.

Daggerfall

I have your strapless wedding gown for you… sir?

Gotta love procedural generation.

I pick up another job, but this one is of a little more importance. The rescuing of a shopkeeper’s young cousin. Now we’re getting somewhere. He tells me she’s being held at the Citadel of Gaersley and that it’s filled with orcs. I killed one of them in the tutorial dungeon, so no problem. This is going to be cake. I make my way there, enter the citadel, and the bastard lied to me. Orcs? ORCS?! Not an orc in sight. Werewolves and giant scorpions, though, this place has in spades and both can one shot me.

Daggerfall

Running. Running is good.

I become REALLY familiar with the Save/Load functions, but I do find enemies I can still dispatch. Burglars, thieves, archers, giant bats, they fall before me. But the giant scorpions paralyze me, which is a quick death, and the werewolves just maul me to pieces. For a brief second, I even saw an ancient lich. This is NOT a level 2 dungeon! After about 50 or 60 deaths, probably more, inexplicably, I stumble across my charge. I pick her up, and we make a beeline for the door.

Back in Daggerfall, with the whole mission taking a total of 5 days, we return to a snow filled scene on the day of a holiday. A holiday? This game has holidays, too?! Even better, each province celebrates their own holidays! So a holiday that is celebrated in the Alik’r Desert may not be celebrated in Wayrest.

It’s the day of South Wind’s Prayer, the 15th of Morning Star (January), where all religions give a prayer on the hope of a good planting season (hopefully they’re not planting in the snow, though). Not long after entering the gates, a courier approaches and delivers a note. It’s from Lady Magnessen of Daggerfall and tells me to meet her at an inn where she is staying to discuss my mission. I also get a note from Princess Morgiah of Wayrest saying she knows of this note, and to come to Wayrest to speak to her, too.

Daggerfall

An Argonian named Ocho… that should be your first clue something isn’t right.

 

Plot! Wait… what IS my mission? Oh, right, according to the log, it’s to find out why King Lysandus’s spirit is haunting Daggerfall and to find some letter sent to the Queen of Daggerfall.

So far Daggerfall is turning out to be better than I expected. Procedural generation out the wazoo but what it lacks in depth it makes up in size, like a humongous puddle… in a good way. This isn’t some remote province, this is a HUGE world and it really feels huge, too! Also, it isn’t about hand-holding either. You’re not some fortold savior like in Skyrim or Morrowind, you’re an average joe-shmoe, and boy does the game let you know that, too.

Well let’s go see what the Lady Magnessen has to say.

// Ocho

Previous Post 

 

5 responses to “Daggerfall: Werewolves and Scorpions

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehe “ten minutes later”! Yep, fast travel man! :P I also suggest getting a cart for all the loot. Then if you have climbing you can do the ridiculous thing of getting up on a roof, and deploying your horse and carriage. They’re skilled you know.

    Also, should you actually survive a werewolf attack you might gain lycanthropy which for me was horrible (you need to kill civilians to stay strong).

    • Oh no worries. I picked up a cart, too, as soon as I could. Going to need to squeeze everything I can out of these ginormous dungeons. I’m only going to be posting a “classic gaming” thing once a week, but I’m already further ahead than this. I don’t want to overload the site with posts on nothing but Daggerfall. :P

  2. We require updates good sir. Where are you at now in the game?

    • Hahaha noticed that, huh? The summer always hits me hard. I get real lazy on my gaming. I do have a piece in the works on why I started these games and gave up on them. For this one… well… it’s too randomly generated for my tastes. “Go find person X in this cave”… the cave being a stunningly ridiculous 3-4 hour mind-bending 3D maze on *every* *single* *quest*. Heck, Elder Scrolls 1 was less of a hassle to do random missions. But yeah, give it time. When the writing bug hits me again, I’ll be back. :P

  3. Pingback: Too Many Options | Casual Aggro

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 655 other followers

