The Defeat of the Gatekeeper #TSW   7 comments

Secret World, Gatekeeper, Emmy

So, yeah, I beat the Gatekeeper in The Secret World and can now start doing Nightmare level dungeons.

I know, right?! I mean, this is me we’re talking about here. A soloer extraordinaire, a known noob, not only completing every Elite dungeon, but then taking on the Golden Gearcheck itself and prevailing.

I, of course, was far from alone in this process. With the help of the Knights of Mercy over the past couple months of Mondays, we have taken down one dungeon after another, for whoever still needed to complete them. So systematically, with their help, I finally completed the last dungeon I needed, Hell Eternal, and then the only thing standing in my way was Big ol’ Goldy. Like a walking Emmy that hits like a truck, I had heard tales of his difficulty, of how it had taken some people days or weeks to take him down.

Secret World, Hell Eternal

TenTentacles offered up videos and strategies he used, but I politely declined them.  I have a thing when it comes to games, and for some reason I think this train of thought is becoming less and less common, I like to experience and try to figure out the content on my own first before I look up guides and walkthroughs. You know, give it a real good try, and then only use online solutions if I really can’t figure it out. Now, I’ve only had to resort to this in The Secret World on maybe three occasions. Some of those investigative missions are just dastardly.

So, not to make this post entirely just a “Hey Look How Awesome I Am” post, for anyone looking to go at the Gatekeeper without assistance, just a fair warning: SPOILERS AHEAD. Just skip past the next section if you don’t want to hear about how it is done.

Eblis, Hell, Hell Eternal, Secret World

=== How To Kill The Gatekeeper in DPS Mode ===

So I went in with my only knowledge being remembering others talking about an insta-kill attack. I did a little rearranging of my skills, and went at him… I lasted about 9 seconds. You see, I chose the DPS route, which means that if you are hit once, just once, you die. Every hit he delivers is for around 1 Million health, which is a little outrageous, considering the max health while wearing all DPS gear is 1970 health. 500x max health is a little excessive. So, simply, don’t get hit.

Not getting hit isn’t easy, though, you have to dodge multiple AoE ground targets. Be like Ali. Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. Going clockwise, and sticking close, I hit and backed up between circles, then move to the next open lane, backed up and kept hitting. When he starts to do a massive attack, he stops shooting ground AoEs. At this time, smack him with a purge. He starts sending AoE’s at you again. Bob and weave through them, damaging all the while. As DPS, you have about 5 minutes to take him down, which is plenty of time, so you don’t need to keep hitting him continuously. Just try not to get hit yourself.

When he got down to about 30% health, he stopped and summoned an add. If that add came anywhere near you, it is instant death.  So, run. If you see the little guy coming, turn away from the Gatekeeper and run for it. I’ve heard he despawns eventually, and that gives you time to beat on GK some more, but, honestly, I didn’t get that far. When the little guy started coming, I placed a few AoE’s of my own on GK and bolted, and the AoEs finished the job for me.

With that, after only about 30 minutes, the Gatekeeper was defeated and now I can move onto Nightmare difficulty.

Here is the build that I used, please use it if it will help you:

Pistol / Elementalism Gatekeeper Build

Weapons: Pistol/Elementalism.

Active Abilities: Hair Trigger, Shootout, Anima Charge, Blaze, Lightning Manifestation, Fire Manifestation, Hard Reset (Elite), Cremate (Flamethrower)

Passive Abilities: Lightning in a Bottle, Mad Skills, Molecular Exploitation, Running Circles, Bloodsport, Aidelon, Live Wire (Elite), Assiduous Burn (Flamethrower)

This build has a lot of strengths going for it. Every hit afflicts and deals extra damage (Bloodsport + Molecular Exploitation). Every crit builds more crit (Mad Skills), which triggers extra damage (Live Wire) and causes you to move faster (Running Circles). You will need to move faster to avoid the add. Lightning Manifestation not only deals no-look damage to the stationary GK, but also purges his big attack (Lightning in a Bottle). Anima Charge enables an extra Blaze to be thrown in, which has about a 50/50 shot of critting (Aidelon). Hard Reset has a 60-second cooldown, but it deals a huge purge as well, in case Lightning Manifestation is on cooldown. Cremate is a simple DoT that lasts a little longer (Assiduous Burn). Finally Hair Trigger, Shootout, and Fire Manifestation are all multi-hit abilities taking advantage of Molecular Exploitation and Bloodsport.

Secret World, Hell Eternal

All said, the Gatekeeper was downed in about 1 minute 20 seconds, well before the 5 minute timer had lapsed. Of course, the purple 10.1′s from the latest Issues and a couple augments from the Scenarios helped, but what really helped is all the people who helped get me through all of the Elites to get here.

They helped take this known soloer, this anti-grouper and anti-dungeon runner, a noob-king among noobs, and helped make it possible for him to take down one of the biggest baddies in the game.

So, to you all, and you know who you are. Thank you.

Now let’s get the rest of the team to the same level and start taking down these Nightmares!

// Ocho

 

 

 

7 responses to “The Defeat of the Gatekeeper #TSW

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!!

    Now to stop letting Skyrim take up all my gaming oxygen and get on on Monday nights with y’all. . . .

    • Dude, I have spent more time in Skyrim than I have in TSW, and I’m still not really done Skyrim yet. Getting there, though… only have to get through that last expansion.

  2. Yet another blog that makes TSW sound so enticing :)

    Well done, good luck with the Nightmares…

  3. Running Circles is for nubs. L2P ;P

    Seriously, though: great job and congratulations! I’m a pretty consistent soloist—or maybe dualist—myself. But having a regular group that I know I can join helps a lot. Don’t forget the folks from Beyond the Veil (you know, the cabal Ocholivis is actually in) are online a lot and would be delighted to run anything with you, whether it requires a group or not.

    • I was running some of the new End of Days stuff with them last night, actually. Got on TS, and whole 9 yards. The guild itself doesn’t have quite a high turnout, though. Thats why I consider Twitter my true guild. :)

      • I would’ve been on, but we went on a Christmas Lights drive that took up a huge chunk of the evening. It depends on the night, but there’re usually enough Beyonders to run group content, though that’s with people that are in other “branches” of the cabal (e.g. Galactrix plays his Templar, while MithSadei plays Dragon). That’s what makes TS so great (and cross-faction grouping). I know what you mean by true-guild Twitter, though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 575 other followers

