The Sims 4 is Offline – It Seems EA Has Been Paying Attention [TheSims4]   10 comments

I have a love/hate relationship with EA right now. On one hand, I’m a huge fan of some of their franchises like The Sims, and I’m currently enthralled with one of the best MMO’s on the market right now, The Secret World. However, EA has shown a dark side by being a main player in the Always-On feud, creating such hostility among their fans that they’ve been named the Worst Company in America 2 times running, and ruining one of my favorite franchises of all-time, the Ultima series.

So, I was shocked by the news being released today that EA has announced and will be releasing The Sims 4 come 2014. Well, not really shocked. The Sims franchise is a juggernaut and one of those Wil Wright genius games that you have to sit back and truly marvel at. So EA making another one is a no-brainer. But with how EA has been acting recently with some of its other franchises, I’m worried.

In The Sims, controlling a Sim sounds like it would be the most boring thing on the face of the planet. You control a person to live their life just like you do. Eating, sleeping, using the bathroom, going to work, dating, having a family, working on your hobbies, and building a home. And yet, it’s gameplay is some of the most captivating I’ve ever experienced. Stories about peoples Sims exploits are hugely entertaining and the game leaves room for so much creativity from building design and decoration to the ridiculous like seeing how many offspring one Sim can conceive in their lifetime.

So what will The Sims 4 be like? Right now, EA has released almost nothing about it. But I am hoping and wishing and praying that EA has learned something from their mis-handling of SimCity.

…And there is hope. According to the official release by EA, The Sims 4 will be a single-player off-line game:

The Sims 4 celebrates the heart and soul of the Sims themselves, giving players a deeper connection with the most expressive, surprising and charming Sims ever in this single-player offline experience.”

Thank you! They can be taught! If the Sims 4 ended up demanding we need to always be online, or some other such ridiculous hoop to jump through, I can guarantee that I will not have played it. The same way I did not play SimCity, the same way I did not play Diablo 3. Adding DRM is fine, but give us players the options whether we want to be connected or not, and give us incentive to do so. Otherwise, no deal.

They do have time to change their mind, though. But with that out of the way, I’m feeling a lot better about the Sims franchise.

// Ocho

P.S. – Fun story. There was one time I got so mad at The Sims that I stopped playing it for a few months. It was one of the first houses and families I ever made and my Sim got a call one day, offering to adopt a baby. I was thrilled. My single-parent bachelor was given the opportunity to build a family. I received the infant and since my Sim was alone, he took some time off of his job, received a demotion, didn’t get much sleep, and essentially was a living wreck. Finally, the baby grew-up into a child! It was like a whole new game. Instead of one Sim, now there were two to control! Since I wanted to teach this new kid some responsibility, I sent him into the bathroom to replace a lightbulb. He went over, pulled out a little stool, reached up to change the lightbulb… and was immediately electrocuted and died.

I was soooooo angry that I just quit playing right there. All that time spent, and the kid electrocutes himself on the first freaking light bulb?! Seriously?!!

P.P.S. – Also, if you have any great Sims stories, I’d love to hear them. :)

Edit – As seen below in the comments, it was the fantastic MMOGamerChick herself that did the Sims population explosion experiment. Go check it out.

Posted May 6, 2013 by Ocho in Other Gaming

Tagged with , , ,

10 responses to “The Sims 4 is Offline – It Seems EA Has Been Paying Attention [TheSims4]

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pretty sure it was MMOGC that detailed her baby making sim

  2. The baby daddy was MMOGC, back in Aug-Sept 2012. ;)

  3. Yup! Thanks guys! Found and linked. It was too great a Sims epic to not pay due respects to. :)

  4. I have a strange relationship with The Sims. Sims 3 I got before I moved overseas as an Offline laptop companion during travel. I tend to play for maybe 10 hours, hit a few bugs that annoy me enough that I forget to log in then when an expansion is released, BOOM! Back in for another 10-20 hours until another bug. The elevator bug in Nightlife was particularly annoying.

    I recently got Seasons as a 2 for 1 with a new headset and am yet to play it because the patcher bugs out and won’t update to the latest version (I could play it anyway if I didn’t patch it, but meh).

    That said I’m sure I’ll buy the Sims 4 because I had a lot of fun doing the Legacy challenges and stuff like that.

    The only real draw back is the new iterations tend to be far less developed then the current iteration with the many expansions so you trade off content for the new mechanics and graphics.

    • Thats true. If they release Seasons or Pets at the same time as release, I’d just throw money at them. Bugs, to me, aren’t really a problem, unless they’re a showstopper. Like Sims Medieval Mobile is filled to the brim with bugs, but I didn’t really care… until it crashed when giving a reward, and then when I came back, said the quest had been completed and then never gave me the credit. That’s a pretty big bug, and I haven’t gone back yet.

  5. Just had a conversation about this. I don’t think EA is changing their stripes, I just don’t think Sims 4 is an always on game. Or that they’re throwing us a bone to recoup lost money and won’t care about leaving all their other stuff online.
    More to the point, the gaming world has turned these days where it is really either spend the big money on a multi-million dollar blockbuster game, or spend little money on a popular small app game and really expand your profit margins. The in-between games (which Sims is) aren’t being really paid attention to much anymore or for a while, and is why it took so long for there to even be a New SimCity or Sims game.

    • On the surface, although it may seem that The Sims is an “in-between” game, it really isn’t. The Sims series is the blockbuster of all blockbusters. Literally. If you look at the top ten best-selling PC games of all-time, The Sims, Sims 2, and Sims 3 all make the list, with Sims and Sims 2 taking the #1 and #2 spot.

      Then, on top of that, although they aren’t selling as great as the primary games, Sims 3 expansions aren’t even finished yet. They will be releasing the 10th expansion next month in June.

      So, while the new SimCity took quite a while to come along, they could experiment with it a lot more as it’s really nothing compared to the goliath that is The Sims (actually, SimCity 3000 did make #13 on the all-time list, too). And experiment they did, and they were hit… hard. But then, even with Sony and Microsoft now backtracking about always being online, it’s now no surprise that EA folded, too.

      I agree about the two big ideas, but they both have twists. The big games with the big pricetags are more and more releasing DLC packs. So, it’s not just a blockbuster… but a blockbuster plus periodic packs to keep gamers playing until it’s time to release their next big blockbuster.

      And the little nothing Free-to-play or really cheap mobile games? They all use addictive psychology to keep you playing and potentially buying extras. I mean, heck, what is the most played (informal) mobile game I’m seeing right now? Candy Crush Saga. … A match-3 game with puzzle-style goals, but random layout. How you would win a tough level comes down to luck more than skill. But when that slot machine hits and you move onto the next board… you’re sucked in.

      In both cases, it’s all about squeezing what they can out of the customer. They changed their mind about always-online due to pressure from all sides, but it helps them in the long run as their product will still reach more people, and more people means more profit.

  6. I find myself standing up from the computer, walking to the living room aimlessly then circling back to the computer. I’ve realized I AM a sim…

  7. Many EA fans were disappointed because of connectivity issues with SimCity. Therefore, you have to give EA credit for deciding to make Sims 4 an offline game. It seem that they have learned from their mistakes, and so Sims fans should applaud that!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 629 other followers

