Skyrim Screenshots   8 comments

As I mentioned in my last post, the game I’m hooked on currently is Skyrim. Oh, and it’s DLC Dawnguard, too. I picked that up, too. Vampires are now everywhere and I can’t tell if they were there to begin with or if it’s part of the Dawnguard content. I like it that way, where the DLC is slipped into the world so seemlessly you can’t tell where one ends and the other begins.

If the choice comes down to Vampire or Werewolf, like some kind of Twilight novel, my choice is easily Werewolf. They just seem less evil. Vampires have the cooler abilities, it’s true, but I prefer the higher level of honor that werewolves seem to have. Who knows… maybe it’s the Harry Potter series that I’m getting that from.

So far, I’m level 34, which translates to “so much gold in my pocket it’s ridiculous” and “powerful enough where I feel I’ve passed the difficulty hump and have moved onto borderline invincible”. Throw on a couple pieces of resist armor, and dragon breath doesn’t even harm you. So far I’m rolling with a few primary abilities: One Hand Weapons (Maces), Light Armor, Restoration Magic, Block, Speech, and Sneak. Pretty much the same set I rolled with in Oblivion and Morrowind. I like it. It’s a fun playstyle. Throw in a dash of Destruction Magic, Archery, and Lockpicking on the side, and you’re set for whatever is thrown at you.

Anyway, enjoy the screenshots!

 –

Nice, right? Very pretty game. My goal is to “finish” Skyrim (as we all know, you can never really finish an Elder Scrolls game) before Guild Wars 2 is released as I want to be there when it opens, or at least a couple of days later as the initial player rush dies down. You know what other game I’ve been craving to try out, too? Rusty Hearts. I know! Crazy, right? However, I played it for about a week a while ago, and found the game A LOT of fun. Not really into anime, personally, but the short dungeons crawls and story were fun. Now that I find purchasing “Zen” a lot less sketchy, since that’s the currency you have to use with Star Trek Online, I might give the new RH expansion Reborn another shot.

What are YOU playing? (Yes you.)

\\ Ocho

P.S. – If you’re wondering about the specs of the system needed for screenshots like this, I just custom built a new system a month or two back. I’m currently rolling with an Intel Core i7 3770 Ivy Bridge, 8 GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460, and Windows 7 Home Premium. I highly suggest building your own system. Not only does it cost less, but you get more power from it. Tips and tricks doing so may be the topic of a future post…

P.P.S. – How freaking awesome was that MSL Curiosity landing?! Humanity never fails to impress me, and in this day where a small nobody gamer’s website is visited by almost 200 different countries, the housing market in one part of the world is enough to affect the global economy, and we celebrate the physical achievements  of our most celebrated athletes together, it can definitely be said that this was not just an achievement for just the United States, but an achievement for humankind. So humanity… you ROCK!!!

Posted August 6, 2012 by Ocho in Screenshots, Skyrim

Tagged with , , ,

8 responses to “Skyrim Screenshots

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great pictures.

    Wish Dawnguard wasn’t so bloody expensive though!

    • That’s true. $20 is a bit steep for an expansion. To be fair, although I bought it, I’m not sure if it’s fully worth the $20. If you’re patient, I’m sure it’ll come down in a few months. Guess you have to weigh it against how much you want to hunt/play a vampire.

  2. My rig when I set it up is an I7 930(before they changed and these skyrocketed to 600 bucks) 2.8ghz, 12gb ram, win 7 pro wutg a GeForce 260(which while a good card was quickly replaced and is on the verge of being one of those obscure cards). I love it personally. Built it all myself, my first custom build and it was a blast. The only thing I would do now is replace the gfx card with dual cards of some sort.

    I haven’t been playing much in the way of games. Terraria has sucked me in when I mess around with it and I have been trying to get 100% achievements on CoD2. Its hard like people say but so far not impossible.

  3. Beautiful pictures there! I always think it’s hard to get nice dragon pictures. I always pee in my pants when I’m sneaking around and am suddenly discovered by a dragon, so they’re definitely scary, but a good picture… hard. The “death blow” animations of melee classes are way cooler than those of rangers, too.

    “Finishing Skyrim” means finishing the main story, I’d say. I hope you’re not planning on completing *everything* (all quests, all achievements) in there. That would most certainly result in Skyrim overkill!

    And what games I play… well, you know that. Skyrim, and also some LotRO and SWTOR. I also really should get that Mass Effect 3 DLC and see what they did with the ending. I should write about the ending on my blog, too. Gah, so much to write about!

    I think it’s great that you’re playing Skyrim, and look forward to reading more about it here. :)

    • Hehe yeah, “Finishing” for me means everything, which is why I said it’s not really possible. I did finish Oblivion, though, by just completing the main story, as I started to get burnt out but I still feel like I only touched about 10% of the game. Thanks for the support!

  4. Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

